Sadhana

The act of doing the same thing every day, reverently.

This concept is so much bigger than me.

But I’ve heard it described as simple as the act of lighting a candle everyday and then blowing it out. Just purposing to do this every day, with reverence. It’s been said that the moment you purpose such a thing, all the reasons not to will surface. And its true.

I’d be a super athlete if I had that discipline. And the fact I can’t stick with a plan, probably explains a lot. Physical, mental, spiritual all go hand and hand.  Mind, Body, Spirit. Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Hmn.

So this year for Lent I decided to purpose somethings. 1. To give up three not so nice things. (time wasters, vocabulary and continuing to stamp on old bad habits, nothing major) 2. To add in their place, more spirituality. To Wit, Sadhana, getting/waking up early and doing yoga practice and meditation.  And “good works” giving to charity money that I would have spent on something else, and being more mindful of my spirit.

And of course, my self wants the things I gave up, has a million reasons not to wake up early. I’ve spent time counting my blessings and being thankful. I’m balancing a too full plate and all that wants to fit on it.

So far? Waking up early has brought such joy and peace, but I miss my bed, in fact one morning’s meditation was actually snuggling in my nest of pillows and praying.

That was a good day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bringontherain
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 12:38:45

    Almost forgot, I can remember the name, why? because its “Sad Hana” She’s sad because she has to get up early. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

